Harjagteshwar Khaira adjudged best wicketkeeper of the tournament

Mohali, November 7: Yadavindra Public School, Mohali lifted the runners up trophy in the U- 14 All India IPSC Cricket Championship, held at B.K. Birla Centre for Education, Pune. In the format of T-20, last year’s defending champions, YPS, Mohali, lost to Modern School, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, in the finals.

The Director YPS, Mohali Major General TPS Waraich in a congratulatory message to the team and coach Praveen singha said that lil champs have made the Punjab and YPS proud with the performance at the highest level in All India IPSC Under-14 Cricket Championship where top 21 schools of the country participated.

Earlier in the Semi Finals, YPS Mohali beat the host B.K. Birla Centre for Education by chasing the target of 87 in 19 overs. In the quarter finals, YPS Mohali played against Mayo College, Ajmer, having set a target of 121 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Mayo College was bundled for just 100 in the 19 overs.

In the league stage, 21 Top school teams across India participated in the tournament. They were divided in 5 pools, YPS Mohali remained unbeaten, playing the first match against the mighty Motilal Nehru Sports School, Rai, Sonipat and outplayed them by restricting them to only 71 runs. YPS boys chased the target in only 16 overs. In the second league match, YPS Mohali, batting first, set a target of 170 runs against Daly College, Indore, who were able to make only 100 runs. In the last league match, YPS set the target of 121 runs for Pinegrove School, Solan who were able to make 97 runs in 20 overs.

The Captain of YPS Mohali team, Harjagteshwar Singh Khaira, was adjudged the best wicketkeeper of the tournament with 11 dismissals which included 5 stumpings, 5 caught behind, 1 run out and apart from this, he also assisted in 4 run outs.